Hello everyone.

Please feel free to introduce yourself
About this forum
This is a new section and up until a "reshuffle" in January 2013 users told a little about themselves in context in posts (often in their first posts), or above as they told how they heard of Dalrymple. Now though, if you would like to say a little more please feel free to start a thread with any title you like.

Hello everyone.

Postby Kevin R » 29 Nov 2013, 14:40

As a new recruit to this fine forum, I'd just like to introduce myself - hope I've managed to post in the correct section..

I'm a painter, living and working in the ancient city of York. Like others here I gravitated to this site via the 'Skeptical Doctor', and I came across Dalrymple's writings via a recommendation in the Amazon book reviews, a route others here have also no doubt taken. The similarities with others here don't end there either, for I too have sustained an incremental 'sea-change' from a youth spent in the unquestioning amniotic fluid of student leftism shared by friends, to a position of increasing horror at the descent into deracination that the last four decades of cultural fragmentation and political tampering have increasingly inculcated. Reading the Doctor's timely words have only served to consolidate that observation - and actual observation it is that has been the bedrock of my changing position.

I have a deep interest in the history and consolidated historical culture of my homeland, and that of wider history and thought which my reading has led me in to, but I won't go into lists here, it will probably emerge when I can find the opportunities to post (which will hopefully be as regularly as I can).