Hello

Please feel free to introduce yourself
About this forum
This is a new section and up until a "reshuffle" in January 2013 users told a little about themselves in context in posts (often in their first posts), or above as they told how they heard of Dalrymple. Now though, if you would like to say a little more please feel free to start a thread with any title you like.

Hello

Postby PeterE » 09 Feb 2014, 17:59

Hi all,
Although I've been reading Daniels/Dalrymple for years, I only just found this site and its forum. This'll save me from checking the various other sites when I feel particularly pessimistic at the state of society!
I'm a scientist in Edinburgh - a beautiful city with a clean face but a dirty backside to match. Theodore Dalrymple's works have always appealed to me because I feel he's saying what few others say, despite the evidence of it everywhere. But I'm not overly pessimistic - as a fan of Cliodynamics (the study of the flows of history) I think we're merely passing through what one author called the Age of Decadence, and will within the next 20 years or so see the wheel turn once more. But what happens in the meantime is a depressing thought...
PeterE

Re: Hello

Postby Jonathan » 09 Feb 2014, 23:07

Hi Peter, welcome aboard. Cliodynamics? Never heard that term before. I suspect a jaunt to wikipedia is in order - though it might have to wait for a slightly more wakeful hour.

It does sound like an interesting concept, though. Perhaps you might recommend a good introductory book on the subject? It had better not be Asimov's Foundation, though :)
Jonathan

Postby PeterE » 10 Feb 2014, 22:49

Double post, sorry!
PeterE

Postby PeterE » 10 Feb 2014, 23:03

Thanks Jonathan!